Approach: Electronic Soleau Envelope - YesMyPatent.com

Soleau envelope

Simple, efficient, irrefutable

Your challenges

You wish to give a certain date to a document (article, publication, technical files, plan...) and make it last in order to be able to provide, in particular, proof of its precedence. YesMyPatent offers you several solutions adapted to your needs: Soleau envelope, or electronic time stamp.


Submit your Soleau envelope

The Soleau envelope, irrefutable proof

We prepare and submit your Soleau electronic envelope to the INPI. The Soleau electronic envelope allows us to time stamp your documents easily and at any time, in all types of formats (.doc, .pdf, .msg, .zip...).


Contact us

A preliminary step in protecting an invention

The Soleau envelope is not equivalent to filing a patent for an invention. It is a simplified approach carried out at the INPI (National Instutite of Indusrial Protection) and which allows the precise dating of documents. As part of an innovation, the documents detailing your work, or even your study designs can be recorded and time stamped using the "Soleau Envelope" procedure.

If it were to happen in the future that someone else claimes to be the author of your work or the inventor of your invention, for example by submitting a patent, for 10 years you can ask the INPI to release your soleau envelope with the certificate of filing date. The soleau envelope is therefore a means of proving that you have precedence in the work or invention.

You can thus continue to operate this work or invention in a personal capacity, without paying royalties to a third party who would have, for example, filed a patent. You were, after all, the first author or inventor!

In French Law this is called "right of previous personal possession".

BE CAREFUL! This soleau envelope does not grant you anything else! It is not an industrial property title like a patent, or a model that you could sell to fire or oppose to a third party.

So, even if you can prove that you had an idea on a specific date, the classic or electronic Soleau envelope never replaces the patent.

You don't posses any monopoly and cannot prevent anyone from using your work or invention.

You may also not give up or transfer this previous right to possesion. So you have to think strategically, for example in the case of a business transfer, or in the case where the soleau envelope was filed in your own name and you wish to transfer this right to your company...

It may be worthwhile, for example, to file a soleau envelope before starting negotiations for a collaboration/partnership agreement in order to record the information that was in your possession (and therefore part of the contract of your "confidential information") before the first meeting with the partner.

The Soleau envelope can also be effective in overcoming the challenges to the probative value of the bailiff's findings, especially in the area of internet evidence (counterfeiting and parasitism on the internet).

What does a Soleau envelope contain?

All types of documents may appear in an electronic Soleau envelope (texts, images, photographs, sketches, video, musical creation, part of computer code, manuscripts...). The INPI will then be able to certify that on that date you were in possession of this work or invention. It's an efficient way to timestamp the documents, and to validate this timestamp. In the context of a company, this Soleau envelope filing procedure can be a real asset. In fact, it makes it possible to quickly and inexpensively obtain legal evidence to present during a conflict. However, the Soleau envelope procedure does not protect the invention. To do this, you must be the patent owner. Obtaining a patent is longer and more expensive than the electronic Soleau envelope, since it requires the writing of a complex file and a registration procedure subject to examination. This is why the Soleau envelope is a worthwhile solution throughout your work in order to time stamp your documents, but that cannot in any case replace the filing of a patent.


Contact us

Démarche : Enveloppe Soleau électronique - YesMyPatent.com

Enveloppe Soleau

Simple, efficace, irréfutable

Vos enjeux

Vous souhaitez donner une date certaine à un document (article, publication, dossiers techniques, plan…) et le conserver durablement afin de pouvoir apporter notamment la preuve de son antériorité. YesMyPatent vous propose plusieurs solutions adaptées à votre besoin : enveloppe Soleau, ou horodatage électronique.


Déposer votre enveloppe Soleau

L’enveloppe Soleau, une preuve irréfutable

Nous préparons et déposons votre enveloppe Soleau électronique auprès de l’INPI. L’enveloppe Soleau électronique nous permet d’horodater vos documents facilement et à tout moment, sous tous les types de formats (.doc, .pdf, .msg, .zip…).


Contactez-nous

Une étape préalable pour protéger une invention

L’enveloppe Soleau n’est pas équivalente au dépôt de brevet pour une invention. Il s’agit d’une démarche simplifiée réalisée auprès de l’INPI (Institut National de la Protection Industrielle) et qui permet de dater précisément des documents. Dans le cadre d’une innovation, les documents qui détaillent vos travaux, ou encore vos dessins d’études peuvent être enregistrés et horodatés grâce à la procédure dite « Enveloppe Soleau ».

Si il devait arriver dans le futur que quelqu'un d'autre clame être l'auteur de votre oeuvre ou l'inventeur de votre invention, par exemple en déposant un brevet, vous pourrez alors demander à l'INPI pendant 10 ans de vous restituer votre enveloppe soleau avec le certificat de la date de dépôt. L'enveloppe soleau est donc un moyen de preuve que vous aviez l'antériorité de cette oeuvre ou invention.

Vous pourrez alors continuer à exploiter cette oeuvre ou invention à titre personnel, sans payer de Royalties à un tiers qui aurait par exemple déposé un brevet. Vous étiez, après tout, le premier auteur ou inventeur !

Cela s'appelle en droit français le "droit de possession personnelle antérieure".

ATTENTION ! Cette enveloppe soleau ne vous octroie rien de plus ! Ce n'est pas un titre de propriété industrielle comme un brevet, ou un modèle que vous pourriez vendre licencier ou opposer à un tiers.

Ainsi, même si vous êtes en mesure de prouver que vous avez eu une idée à une date précise, l’enveloppe Soleau classique ou électronique ne remplace jamais le brevet.

Vous ne possédez aucun monopole et ne pouvez empêcher personne d'exploiter votre œuvre ou invention.

Vous ne pouvez pas non plus céder ou transférer ce droit de possession antérieur. Il faut donc penser stratégiquement, par exemple dans le cas d'une cession d'entreprise, ou dans le cas ou l'enveloppe soleau a été déposée en votre nom propre et que vous souhaiteriez transférer ce droit à votre entreprise...

Il peut être intéressant par exemple de déposer une enveloppe soleau avant de commencer des négociations d'un contrat de collaboration/partenariat afin d'acter les informations qui étaient en votre possession (et font donc partie dans le contrat de vos "informations confidentielles") avant le premier rendez vous avec le partenaire.

L'enveloppe Soleau peut aussi être efficace pour pallier les remises en cause de la valeur probante des constats d’huissier notamment en matière de preuve sur internet (contrefaçon et parasitisme sur internet).

Que contient une enveloppe Soleau ?

Tous les types de documents peuvent figurer dans une enveloppe Soleau électronique (textes, images, photographies, croquis, vidéo, création musicale, partie de code informatique, manuscrits…). L'INPI va alors pouvoir certifier qu'à cette date vous étiez bien en possession de cette oeuvre ou invention. C’est une façon efficace d’horodater les documents, et de faire valoir cet horodatage. Dans le cadre d’une entreprise, cette procédure de dépôt d’enveloppe Soleau peut être un véritable atout. En effet, elle permet d’obtenir rapidement et à moindre frais des éléments juridiques à présenter lors d’un conflit. Cependant, la procédure d’enveloppe Soleau ne protège pas l’invention. Il vous faut pour cela en être le titulaire grâce à un brevet. L’obtention d’un brevet est plus long et plus coûteux que l’enveloppe Soleau électronique, car il nécessite la rédaction d’un dossier complexe et d’une procédure d’enregistrement soumise à examen. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’enveloppe Soleau est une solution intéressante au cours de vos travaux pour horodater vos documents, mais qui ne peut en aucun cas remplacer le dépôt d’un brevet.


Contactez-nous